Super Bowl Ads Range From Good to Awful

Matthew Broderick’s performance in this Super Bowl commerical wasn’t awful, it was just the concept that stunk. Why revive a classic film in a way that eliminates the movie’s true allure? | Screenshot from YouTube.com

I’m not sure exactly what’s happening. I think it might be a mixture of my growing love for football and my curiosity in middle-age sex symbols (Mick Jagger, Madonna, etc.) The point is, not only do I no longer find Super Bowl commercials funny or entertaining, but I don’t even care.

I watched every single one this year and I was so unimpressed that I might just use the mute button next year. I was pretty bored.

Either way, some of The Minaret staff loved them and some of us hated them. Here are a couple opinions of this year’s $3 million attempts at selling stuff.

The Best of the Best – By John Hilsenroth Jr., Asst. Sports Editor

Although I thought it was a down year for commercials, there were still some gems. No one was able to match the aforementioned Volkswagen Darth Vader kid, not even Volkswagen them self.  Their rendition of the dog losing weight was pretty awesome, if they had cut it right there.  The next 30 seconds were beyond ridiculous.  John Stamos getting head-butted and the stripping M & M get honorable mentions, but this years top commercial was from one of the most unlikeliest of brands.

That’s right, Sketchers’ moon-walking dog was the best commercial of Super Bowl XLVI.  Mr. Quiggly sure could run!  His bright red sneakers and glamorous smile stole my heart away.  What capped it off was Mark Cuban negotiating a contract with him. I’ll still never be caught dead in a pair of Sketchers, but that was one creative commercial.

The Worst of the Worst – By Miles Parks, Sports Editor

Wow. Matthew Broderick is getting a little chunky, huh? Honda’s attempt at remaking one of the greatest high school flicks of all-time failed miserably. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off  is centered on the concept of seizing the day. What would you do if you had a beautiful girlfriend, a gorgeous car and 12 hours to roam the city?

This CRV commercial features a 50-something Broderick hitting the town BY HIMSELF. This is my biggest issue with the ad. When advertising an SUV, why wouldn’t you play up the enjoyment you can have with others?
Broderick goes to the fair, jumps into an Asian festival performance and heads out to dinner alone. I just don’t get it and it doesn’t make me laugh. It just makes me uncomfortable. If I were a Honda exec, I would go back to the drawing board. Think back to the Darth Vader kid. Polishing up a concept from 30 years ago doesn’t make for a great commercial; an original creative idea does.
——

Read the rest of this article here, where it was originally published in The Minaret.

