NCAA Trumps NFL In Every Way

I awoke on Monday morning with the strangest vision. A world of vibrant colors and real history surrounded me. There were these things called “traditions” and “idiosyncrasies” that made each and every football team unique. A field of blue. It was a world of pigskin that didn’t know anything about replacement referees or bounty scandals or beer sponsors. It was a simpler place. And it was played on Saturdays.

The collegiate level is simply the most entertaining and pure platform for American football.

“No!” You might scream. “The NFL rocks my socks! I can’t draft Clemson QB Tajh Boyd to my fake team on the internet and bet money that he, compounded with many other unrelated players, will win me glory and cash!”

This is true. Fantasy football is the NFL’s monopoly, and it’s often the argument fans use when defending the league. Because of the nature of NFL contracts and naming rights, both fantasy football and NFL video games have created closer connection with fans. NCAA ‘13 would be a whole lot better with some last names.

I can admit that I love fantasy sports, and in particular, fantasy football. But lately, I’ve come to a couple of sobering realizations. 1. As a sports journalist, fantasy sports are bad. Sports betting is bad. Bias and vested interest are bad. 2. Teams and rivalries don’t really matter to me anymore. 3. College football, without this faux-personal relationship with players, makes me happier.

This past weekend, I took in three live football games. I covered a high school game on Friday night filled with mistakes and complete with an hour-long weather delay. On Saturday night, I headed to the USF vs. FSU game and on Sunday, I experienced RGIII’s first fourth quarter NFL comeback.

The rest of this article can be found here where it was originally published in The Minaret.

